One Thing I Love Especially About My One-Year Old

20130718-105558.jpg

This is Hákun. My little boy. He’s at the age where we still count months (15, in a couple of days). He likes cars, throwing himself around in his parents’ bed and making fart noises and laughing.

There are a lot of things I love about Hákun. But one thing that I love about him especially is his… Bulk. Somehow. The space he takes up in the universe. His size. This was particularly true when he was even littler and didn’t have much personality and didn’t communicate and interact as much as he does now. Holding him and feeling his physicality stake a claim on however many particles go in to constituting a baby’s body. I really love that. And I’ll protect that little body with my own, whatever it takes.

Standard

Leave a Reply

